The safety-net ipa (sipa) 

In the current landscape of healthcare delivery system and Medicaid payment redesign/reform, it is essential that SNAPCAP members build on established trust and working relationships to move toward deeper clinical integration and joint contracting with managed care organizations.

To accomplish this, SNAPCAP members formed an Independent Practice Association (IPA) to provide the structure within which to develop joint capacity for managing populations and performance and for securing value-based payment (VBP) contracts.


sipa members

The Safety-Net IPA is made up of ten SNAPCAP members; are all NYSDOH-certified Article 28 clinics providing care to patients who are traditionally underserved, including who: receive Medicaid or are un- or under-insured; are living in poverty; have complex chronic disease or disability; are members of racial, ethnic or cultural minority communities. 

Member clinics include a mix of Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs), or free-standing clinics. Below is a list of current members.

  1. Aspire of WNY

  2. Community Health Center of Buffalo, FQHC

  3. Evergreen Health Services

  4. Jericho Road Community Health Center, FQHC

  5. Neighborhood Health Center, FQHC

  6. Elmwood Health Center

  7. Planned Parenthood of Central and Western New York

  8. The Chautauqua Center, FQHC

  9. The Resource Center

  10. Universal Primary Care, FQHC

 In 2018, SIPA members together provided high quality primary care, behavioral health and dental care to over 125,000 patients in five counties in Western New York.


For more information or Managed Care Organizations interested in contracting with SIPA, please contact Brett Lawton, Executive Director.